Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Story: 3/5

Writing:3/5

Cover: 3/5

 

 

 

 

I saw the trailer for the movie before I had ever heard about the book. Then one day I woke up and checked bookstagram and all anyone could talk or post about was this book. I’m not sure if the trailer played a role in the surge of popularity, or it was one of those Now-I’ve-heard-of-this-book-so-it’s-everywhere things.

Either way, I took the plunge and I bought the book. I started reading it this week while I was in Boston. I was on vacation and supposed to be doing touristy things, instead I read half of the book the day I started reading it. While it isn’t going to go down in time as a great piece of literature, it’s still a good and fast read. (Surprisingly light given the subject).

It is extremely predictable but there is something about the characters that made me want to continue reading. Louisa is frustrating at first because she appears small minded and closeted. She doesn’t believe she can do something with her life. She doesn’t believe she deserves to try harder for herself. She starts working for Will, and of course everything changes. She finds herself and discovers that there is a world outside of the small country town she lives in. Meanwhile, Will finds in Louisa a reason to enjoy the time he has left. Cliché? Absolutely. Didn’t stop me from eating it up. Then again, I am a sap and live for this stuff.

Even though I knew what was coming in the end, I sobbed like a little baby. It’s pretty easy to guess what happens just by the name of the sequel. I don’t know if this was intentional but it annoyed me a tiny bit. Also everyone I know who has read the book said they cried, so again wasn’t hard to put the pieces together.

Overall, I wouldn’t say it’s amongst my favorites but I definitely enjoyed reading it. It’s the first book by Jojo Moyes that I have read and I thought her writing style is pretty simple. However, that also means there isn’t anything about her style that jumped out at me (I only had one tab 2 tabs at the end of the book).

I would recommend reading it especially if you’re on vacation or taking a break.

Quotes:

“Everything takes time Will,” she said, placing her hand briefly on his arm. “And that’s something that your generation find it a lot harder to adjust to. You have all grown up expecting things to go your way almost instantaneously, You all expect to live the lives you chose. Especially a successful young man like yourself. But it takes time.”

How is it you have the right to destroy my life, I wanted to demand of him, but I’m not allowed a say in yours?

 

Leave a Reply

